The Revd Robert Jones appointed as Rural Dean  
  Revd Robert Jones recives letter of appointment  
  Photo: Kate Turner                   
  On Sunday 3 February after the 10am Service Canon Edgar Turner (Senior Registrar for Connor Diocese) presented the Revd Robert Jones with his letter of appointment as Rural Dean of South Belfast Rural Deanery

Parishes within a diocese are grouped into Rural Deaneries for which the Bishop appoints a Rural Dean.

South Belfast Rural Deanery comprises the parishes of Finaghy and Upper Malone, Malone, St Nicholas', St Thomas', St Bartholomew's, All Saints', St Aidan's and Mary Magdalene's, St Simon's. Three of these eight parishes are currently vacant.

Rural deans are responsible for supervising the care of Church property in their rural deaneries in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution and the annexed rules and for performing such other duties as may be assigned to them by the bishop. During a vacancy the Rural Dean chairs meetings of the Select Vestry and Easter Vestry. So with the above vacancies and Easter coming up it will be a busy time.