Cappella Caeciliana  
Capella Caeciliana

On 14th May 2010 St John’s Malone was honoured to host .one of the Ireland’s leading chamber choirs.Cappella Caeciliana, a Belfast  based choir conducted by Donal McCrisken, specialises in singing  liturgical music.


The choir sings at a wide variety of church services and  concerts throughout Northern Ireland and has also had a number of  international tours which have included: competing in the 2004 Montreux Choral Festival and a tour to Rome in 2008 which included singing at a Papal Audience. The  choir is currently planning its 2011 USA tour.


The choir regularly sings on local and national radio and at Christmas 2009 joined “The Priests”  (Fathers Eugene and Martin O’Hagan and David Delargy who are members of  Cappella Caeciliana) and the BBC Young Choristers of the Year 2009 in St Peter's Cathedral in Belfast to  broadcast the BBC Radio 2 Christmas Service.


The first half of the programme contained a number of well known pieces:


Quam gloriosum                                          T L de Victoria

Sicut cervus                                                    G P da Palestrina

Thou knowest, Lord                                  H Purcell

Totus tuus                                                       H Gorecki

Ave verum                                                       W Byrd

The Lamb                                                         J Tavener

 Lux Aurumque                                             E Whitacre

Cantate Domino                                          C Monteverdi


During the interval the audience moved to the two halls where refreshments were served.

  Refreshments 1 Refreshments 2  

The second half was a selection from Part 3 of Handel's Messiah:



I know that my Redeemer liveth       (soloist:  Clare McEvoy)

Since by man came death

The trumpet shall sound                 (soloist:  Paul McQuillan)

If God be for us                              (soloist: Helen Black)

Worthy is the Lamb


  Clare McEvoy   Paul McQuillan   Helen Black    

Clare McEvoy

Paul McQuillan

Helen Black



Ciara Agnew, Helen Black, Cathy Loughrey, Clare McEvoy, Helena McCrisken, Mairead Weir, Anita Wilkinson


Siobhan Martin, Jane Matthews, Anita Mawhinney, Nuala Murray


Rob Eddy, Michael Chambers, Simon Jackson,

Paul McCusker


Peter Donaldson, David Macartney, Paul McQuillan,  Philip O’Rawe

Organist:          Neale Agnew                                                   

Conductor:      Donal McCrisken

  The evening's entertainment was enjoyed by the capacity audience and the proceeds were divided equally
between the St John’s Malone Building  Fund and Cappella Caeciliana’s USA Tour Fund